Food for Your Soul and Crazy Amounts of Passion

I just would like to say that I have no qualifications in food or a life time experience of clean thinking. These are my thoughts and hopefully powerful words that I have felt guided to share.


A post I read from one of the most soulful people I know, James Lonergan, really got me thinking. It totally slapped me in the face on what REALLY matters. In the past I totally would have changed everything I believe in, though this time I stayed grounded in who I am…but totally took on his rad words. James wrote about how he used to be all about the best food and raw and vegan. Almost as though he were narrow minded about food and living organically. He is questioning it all though, being the perfect example of constantly changing and evolving our body, mind the beliefs. (Do it people! It’s fun!)

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

I realised that I had been doing the same thing. Not as extreme. I think a lot of other people get into this state of mind where only one way of living is best for them, and sometimes others. I can’t speak for others but in my mind organic food and herbs were EVERYTHING. They would heal me, all of me, including my state of mind. I thought eating clean and high vibe-ing foods would be the easy way to being connected to my purpose in life, my authentic soul. Boy was I wrong.

It wasn’t working, a shock. I was still a reck more or less. I know other people feel this way, and it isn’t anything new. There are people that have caught onto this years and years and years before I did, and they have been putting this out into the universe. But for me, the pivotal moment only happened a few weeks ago.

FOOD ISN’T THE ONE THING THAT WILL HEAL YOU!

Don’t get me wrong, high quality, wholesome food and water will never be bad for you. And I will always surround myself and my family with organic foods. Though there is something else, that I think should come above food. Your mind and spirituality! I think spending time to reflect, get in tune with, and detoxify your thoughts is far better than trying to stop those not so nice feelings with food (healthy or not) and other vices. It isn’t about that! I have to tell myself that the emptiness isn’t in my full stomach and can’t be filled with any of the high-vibe-packed-with-love food. It is taking time to step out into nature, recognising those poisonous words you are hammering yourself with and seeing love instead, laughing with a friend, reading a book that you love… it is taking a walk, spending time with family, helping people less fortunate, gardening… Anything your soul loves to do. For me I feel like because I came from the earth it is my duty (and total pleasure) to give back whenever I can and nurture Earth. I know it may sound hippie and like spiritual woo woo but I don’t care because it is like a three course meal for my soul.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

While food and water are essential for our health and… well, to stay alive, I have found that anything that isn’t food related that I truly love will fill me up. I can spend hours studying creative writing or gardening, adventuring, planting and tending to seedlings that I will in time harvest, and dancing to music and know that when my body needs fuel or replenishment it will tell me… and I will listen. Oh, I will totally listen because I don’t want anything to stop me from enjoying what now matters the most to me. Doing what fills up every inch of my being and shines from my pores like little beams! !@#$@#$!

Processed with VSCOcam with q4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with q4 preset

I can feel the excitement already!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with q4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So. Going back to what I said about food never being bad. It’s true I guess but it can be dangerous and make massive wave inside you. Under eating will stop you from reaching your highest loving self, and over eating will do the same thing. How do you know? Well, it will probably sound obvious. Listen to your body! It has this amazing ability to talk to you, you just have to be attuned to these subtle (sometimes massive) messages.

Diet isn’t everything lovely people! I know the media is really pushing all of this really healthy food, which is great! More people need to be aware of this, but don’t get trapped into thinking that diet is everything. Because it isn’t. It is part of a healthy life, not the main chorus.

So, what can you do to become more in tune with your body? What can you do to fill up your soul and make you fuller than food?
image2

Processed with VSCOcam with q9 preset

The first step is wanting to make the change! From there it is easy as long as you want it.

Brittany xx

Leave a Reply

