On Getting Bendy and Not Being Stupid

I just wanted to write a quick post about flexibility. Tomorrow I plan to give you an Easter post with something special but for now I just wanted to share something that happened to me.

I don’t think there was a time that I haven’t been able to touch my toes without straining, do an arch, perform a pretty good cartwheel, or get into a position where I am almost in splits. From a young age I was enrolled in gymnastics and other sports that required me to be flexible and stretch a fair bit.Β I don’t do gymnastics or team sports anymore but I do exercise every day (okay 5-6 days a week MAX) and stretching. Usually I stretch in the mornings, go to work, then again I stretch/yoga in the afternoon. I find that I move around a lot better and I can get into some pretty weird positions in result. Anyway, I was telling the two girls I nanny about some of the different things I can do… I shouldn’t have mentioned the splits but I did and they excitedly told me to show them. Hhhh. I am cringing just writing about this. So I stretched a little, not enough because the youngest was bouncing around the room begging me to hurry up or she would “DIIIIIIEEEE”. I first went into the front splits, it was a little harder than usual and I should have listened to my body and paused to stretch and warm my legs up a little more. Of course, I didn’t. I switched sides and as I lowered down. I was able to touch the ground, but as I did I heard a few popping sounds. I pulled my Hamstring. yeah…

So, the next day I really paid for it. I couldn’t go for my morning run, stretch much, or even do yoga. Eeeek. Sitting down was uncomfortable as well. I am not one of those people that get’s super hyped by their own pain. Ehem, mum. So it was pretty unpleasant. Three days later I am confident enough to stretch then go for my run and warm down after. I guess I got lucky because I know it could have been much worse.

My point is, please make sure you stretch properly! I’m no expert, but if something doesn’t feel right and you body is sayin’ ‘hold up gurrrl. You ain’t really gonna do dat?’…don’t do it! Take it easy, take your time and enjoy it. Stretching shouldn’t be a chore or painful. Relax. I know it seems simple, or maybe you just don’t think you need to stretch. Stretching helps to prevent injury, so don’t skip it.

Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 8.48.34 am
This is one of Elle’s shots from her Instagram, Elle Fit/ Get Bendy. Her feed is such an inspiration for me. Click on it to check out her page.
Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 8.46.11 am
Amy

Β 

Hope you have all had a nice flowingΒ week so far.

Brittany xx

Leave a Reply

