Seashells

Often I get stuck in the person my environment says I am. Loved ones tell me I am ‘shy’… so I must be, right? I am told that I wont be good at something… so really, I shouldn’t even bother. No! I am boundless. You are too! We are all boundless and once more and more people start to realise that…well, crazy high vibing will be happening all over the place! We live in a world where Lawyers or Business persons are crafty and don’t have fun. Artists are crazy alcoholics. And the elderly are all frail and sickly. How sad is that? What I love though is that people are defying those stereo-types. From Obama to the 24-year-old organic earth lover who owns one of my most favourite organic cafes on the coast, these men along with so many others have made a decision not to follow the norm. They can’t be put into a box.

Me? I am a lover, an artist, a reader, a big sister to three… I am a daughter, a writer, a friend, a shoulder to cry on… I am a nanny, a pro at packing a dish washer, a gold metal hair braider… I am so many different things. There isn’t one category that I fit into. It has always been that way. I love Mother Earth and sustainability but I still shop at Forever New and shave my legs, I haven’t had animal products in two weeks and meat for over a year but I’m not vegan or vegetarian, I am often reserved around people that I don’t know  and am mad about knitting but I’m not plain.

It is in my beliefs that no one can be categorised. There is just no way! When you are on your path to your authentic self there isn’t a box in the world you belong to! You are so special and unique, and I wish that I could have the chance to meet all of you.

Every night when I gaze dreamily at the moon I long to be a photographer so I can capture the unfaltering beauty of the moon. But, wait! Maybe I should follow my passion for cooking and become a organic food chief or a healthy food blogger, I could totally get a Nutrition degree! Other times my empty soul dreams of my body creating a baby, a little being all my own. I have known from a young age that a huge part of my souls mission was to be a mumma. But not just a mum! I will never fit into the ‘mother’ box that society have built. I don’t think any woman with kids should even try to fit into that box. You should be forever changing because that means you are growing and learning from your mistakes and wins. Keep moving forward.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
   Lead me to the ocean, my dear.

So, this whole thing started with a seashell, I know it is a little weird…stay with me. I was getting dressed for my job this morning, I’m a nanny so being pretty-fied isn’t necessary, and I was thinking that I felt stuck in my job because of the hours and the things I have to deal with. I reached into the pocket of my old shorts and pulled out a tiny piggy shell. I had forgotten all about it, but there is was sitting in the palm of my hand and I couldn’t stop looking at it. A few weeks ago I finished work for the night, it was a really long day and I felt heavy and all blocked! On a whim I drove in the opposite direction to my house and ended up at the beach. The wind off the sea was cool in contrast to the humidity, it was a really liberating feeling. I walked for about half an hour and stopped to let the water lap at my feet. I felt all of my stress rush down to my feet and into the warm ocean water. I just love how something as simple as wave rushing over your feet can be so… therapeutic! As the water washed away the sand from beneath my feet I looked up to the moon with a question in my mind. ‘why am I so drained?’ I was sleeping very well but still I was so tired. My answer came this morning while I smiled at the little shell in my hand. I was unconsciously trying to be a the type of nanny in the movies I watched that were quiet, did all the house work and didn’t have a life outside of the family she worked for. I had allowed myself to fuss constantly over how I would get more healthy foods into the the girls dinner that night or how I was going to deal with pre-teen mood swings…yeah, that is really fun. In the short time of starting this new job I had totally been untrue to my authentic self.

So. Let us all celebrate our authentic self because ‘normal’ is boring. Really! Normal Sucks! Who would want to be ‘normal’ when they can be unique and wild and free? No one I know. If you are curious to meet your true self jump on the amazing journey, it is never too late to join in on this revolution. Say yes to crazy dancing and new adventures! Say yes to dirty feet and wild hair! Jump out of your comfort zones more often lovely people, because that is where you will find yourself. That’s what I will be doing. There is this really wonderful wild heart, Lizz Pennings of Gypsy Stone. Her Instagram really inspires me to be more free and more wild. And that feels great because it is our natural state. Anyway, check her out if you haven’t already.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 10.42.46 am
Lizz from a la Gypsy Stone

want to leave you with this one quote. When I read it, inspiration and clarity really hit me hard.  

~    “Our lives are mere flashes of light in an infinitely empty universe. In 12 years of education the most important lesson I have learned is that what we see as “normal” living is truly a travesty of our potential. In a society so governed by superficiality, appearances, and petty economics, dreams are more real than anything anything in the “real world”. Refuse normalcy. Beauty is everywhere, love is endless, and joy bleeds from our everyday existence. Embrace it. I love all of you, all my friends, family, and community. I am ceaselessly grateful from the bottom of my heart for everyone. The only thing I can ask of you is to stay free of materialism. Remember that every day contains a universe of potential; exhaust it. Live and love so immensely that when death comes there is nothing left for him to take. Wealth is love, music, sports, learning, family and freedom. Above all, stay gold.”
― Dominic Owen Mallary

Much love xx

Leave a Reply

