A First Time For Everything

Sometimes I can be pretty spontaneous. Going in for a trim and coming out with my waist length hair above my shoulders or deferring uni for a year to become a nanny, I swear I am going back Nana!! (the last one has worked out really well, the first not so much). This is definitely one of those impulsive times… without a doubt. I woke up to a oddly cool morning and my handsome man (my dog) with his little head rested on my chest. Yesterday was emotionally draining, for reasons I don’t think I will share just yet (I’ll give you a hint, a boy… THE boy), and this morning I said to myself that I need to be spontaneous. I felt like I needed to do something to express my emotions, creativity, passion and love. So I Googled (yes, I Googled!) how to start a blog and now I am here. I am still working everything out so forgive me if my post are a little Plain-Jane.

It feels fitting, since I really love healthy foods, to start this blog off with a bang. So I ask you what is more ‘bang’ worthy than pancakes? I’ll tell you the only answer (because I don’t believe that war is the answer). Pancakes! Yay! These aren’t just any pancakes though. They are super healthy, yummy and hey these babies have blueberries in them. Blueberries are filled with antioxidants and are a very yummy skin food. I have adapted this recipe slightly from the Green Kitchen Stories Flour-Free Banana and Coconut Pancakes. They are genius, GENIUS!, but the desecrated coconut in them didn’t really sit well with my personal likings so I replaced it with coconut flour. This turned out really well. I also have used the dried pulp from homemade coconut milk, and that works just as well. The original recipe makes 10 pancakes but mine is enough for 2 lovers or one hungry person. But go crazy! Make a massive one, there are no rules!

These pancakes are the perfect breakfast for a Sunday morning because they are quick to make, are healthy and they are pancakes. This recipe is my go to on a lazy Sunday when I don’t feel like my weekday oatmeal or a healthy breakfast smoothie. In summer I love to eat them outside in the shade but in winter there is just nothing like eating this healthy stack in bed. Admit it, it’s your guilty pleasure as well.


Banana and Blueberry Pancakes

Makes 4 pancakes

Notes: If you are looking for a vegan option substitute the eggs for a chia or flax mix. 1 tablespoon to 3 tablespoons of water. If you have the chance to grind the seeds go for it.

Additions: 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric powder, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 1/4 cardamom, soaked nuts or seeds for topping, homemade nut butter for a topping.

1 ripe banana

2 eggs (organic and free range)

1 tablespoon coconut flour or dried pulp from nut milk

1/4 cup organic blueberries (more for topping)

Coconut oil for frying (I love coconut oil so I add a table spoon, sometimes two, but do what feels right to you)

Honey for drizzling (support the honey bees beautiful people, buy raw and organic)

Mash the banana with a fork in a standard bowl. Crack in the eggs and mix it with a fork until the egg and banana are combined well. This is where you add the tablespoon of coconut four and mix that in. You will see that the mixture is thicker now. The coconut has soaked up some of the moisture. Add the blueberries and mix lightly.

Put a pan on medium to low heat (depending on your stove) and add the coconut oil. Once hot enough start adding in the pancake mixture in whatever sizes you desire. They do puff up a bit because of the coconut flour so you can make them thinner and get more out of the recipe. You may need to use the back of a spoon to smooth them out on the pan. Let cook for about two minutes on the first side, flip, then cook for another minute or so. Serve with whatever and however you like, definitely don’t forget the honey… yum.

Enjoy.

FullSizeRender 2

FullSizeRender

I really hope you like this version of the recipe it also work well without the coconut flour, just cook for a little longer on each side. The original is in David and Luise’s first book and on their blog, I encourage you to give that one a try. So good. Please feel free to share some of your favourite add-ons for this recipe.

One thought on “A First Time For Everything

Leave a Reply

